Art in the Heart

Hello dear readers,

It has been such a sweet gift to connect with you over these last few months. I am so heart-warmed by this opportunity to share with you, and so thankful to get to know many of you throughout this time. Unfortunately, writing every week is beginning to be a bit too exhausting for my current state of health, so I am going to have to space things out just a bit longer. Will you join me every other Monday afternoon instead? I look forward to seeing you then 🙂

On this note {the note of having to set energy limits} I’d like to share some wise words with you that the dear Holley Gerth shared with me. They have been a treasure for me, and I hope they become the same for you. She said:

When you’re not writing or talking, you’re still actually in the writing process because you’re thinking and listening with your heart. So that time is really valuable.

It took me a long time to realize that when I’m putting words on paper it’s only one little piece of being a writer. Most of it happens quietly in my heart. So remind yourself that in the times when you can’t produce anything you’re still being very productive.

Is there a way this little quote is true for you today? Maybe there is some sort of art, some sort of purpose, some sort of dream in your heart that is growing and developing, even if you don’t always feel physically well enough to work on it. The beauty of growth and of art is simply that; it is honest and existent even in restful moments because it isn’t only achieved through manual labor. Sometimes attention, contemplation, imagination, and ideas are equally powerful (and certainly always equally beautiful). They lead us to places we couldn’t see or touch or even dream of otherwise. They help us reflect, release, and expand. Rest in this today, sweet friend, and I will do the same.

…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 1:6

What if the true artistic work is being fully ourselves in the presence of others?

What if the book, the painting, the meal, the presentation were all simply evidence of a deeper art happening within the soul of an artist?

Art is what happens when you dare to be who you really are. ~Emily Freeman

6 thoughts on “Art in the Heart

  1. Dear Rachel. That is a wise thing to do…but maybe don’t even limit yourself to a specific timetable, just post when you feel able to. We all understand only too well!!
    Love the thoughts about art not being just the doing… This is very significant for me too. Rest well. Xxx

    • Thank you for understanding, Sara! It’s so kind of you. It’s a great idea not to limit myself to a time table, and I may come to that point, but sometimes I find it easier to stick to a routine. Chronic illnesses sure do turn us into planners! Hahah. So glad you liked the post, though. I hope you rest well, too 🙂

  2. I totally understand those limitations! They can be so frustrating at times but I really like they way you are thinking about it. Its such a lovely idea that all of the thoughts in my heart and all of whats going on in my life is part of my art. I think you are right about that but I’d never thought of it that way before. Rest up and take good care of yourself!

    • Thank you for understanding, Miriam! I appreciate that so dearly. I’m glad this post applied to you. Sometimes the smallest shifts in our mindsets make all the difference! This idea of art being a reflection of our hearts really brought me peace and I hope it does the same for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

