When You Need A Little Courage to Share Your Struggles

I hope this week you are touched by the freedom of being honest about your struggles,

And feel the value in sharing your heart and all its beauty, vulnerability, and authenticity.

I hope your openness is met with genuine comfort, support, and acceptance from those dearest to you,

And you are offered listening ears and open arms and that your heart is greeted with the soft but powerful whisper,

“Your story is significant.”

I hope that whisper casts a ripple effect that reaches each part of your being, refreshing it with the truth of your worth.

I hope you feel no shame in your pain,

But feel the triumph of grace overwhelm even the shadowiest valleys of your soul.

For you may walk through the valley with no fear of danger, for He is with you.

I hope you find relief from the burden you’re carrying, and feel how honesty alleviates suffering.

Sometimes all it takes is a listening ear.

I pray we find the courage to be open, and the grace to meet others with the same compassion we wish for in return.

“For the Lord comforts His people and will have compassion on His afflicted ones.” ~Isaiah 49:13
6 thoughts on “When You Need A Little Courage to Share Your Struggles

  1. That was such a beautiful message. I can relate to this even though my struggles are different from yours. I am lucky to have you as my listening ear! I hope I show you the same compassion in return!..(let me know if I do not, cause I have to work at this you know..haha!) Much love, WB

  2. Thanks Rachel. This is really so encouraging for me today! I recently started to attend a small community group Bible study at my brother’s church. I don’t know anyone in the group and it’s been years since I’ve been out in a social situation like this. Of course naturally, I’m struggling with how much to say about my illness.

    Last week when we were discussing prayer requests I nervously shared a little about my illness & I was so blessed and encouraged by response and the prayers that were prayed for me. I am still fearful when I think about saying more but I’m praying that God will give me the courage to be open even if it means being vulnerable, that my struggles will somehow encourage someone else and that he’ll give me the words to be open without over-sharing! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for the encouragement! πŸ™‚

    • I’m so happy to hear you had the opportunity to attend a small fellowship meeting! That is wonderful! I can absolutely understand how it could be nerve-wracking for you to begin to share about your struggles openly like that, especially after not being able to attend meetings like that in awhile. What a step of courage! Great job! It’s so good to hear that you were welcomed with such a warm and supportive response. I will be praying with you that God will help you continue to share your heart, even when it seems scary, and touch others with your empathy and encouragement. You will do great!

      Peace to you,
      Rachel

Leave a Reply

