Week 4: It’s Okay to Rest; It’s Okay to Need Care

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. ~1 Peter 5:7

In her book, “You’re Already Amazing”, Holley Gerth dedicates a chapter to why it’s okay for us to care for ourselves. She gives us permission to release the lie that “it’s selfish to care for ourselves” and instead, guides us to the truth that we need to care for ourselves so that we have the inner resources to care for those around us. She gives us the imagery of an “emotional bank account” and talks about how it’s so important to balance our deposits and withdrawals. I find her simple explanation so refreshing. It clicks in the way that lights up the eyes and an understanding “ohhhh!” escapes the lips (or, the more comical light-bulb flicking on above the head). When I took time to reflect on this, I noticed just how out of sync my “balance” was, and I fear that you may find the same. It is so easy to overextend our energy balance when each movement costs us valuable energy, but in a way, it is such a powerful little reminder about prioritizing, simplifying, and accepting the here and now so we can return to a state of balance.

I believe, with such joy, that spending time with Christ with an open heart and surrendered spirit leads to us finding true balance. He’s the God of radiant redemption. It’s time to let Him gently take off our masks that say, “I’m fine” and “I should be able to do more”, to let Him lovingly draw near to us and intimately look into the face of His child. Let Him see your authentic soul, He longs to. He knows you need care, and He isn’t disappointed. There is no shame in Christ. No guilt, no earning, no striving, and no condemnation. Especially not for the weak, for it’s the weak He came to rescue (Mark 2:17). We believe many lies that steal our rest and joy, and I believe this deeply saddens our Lord. Our all-loving Jesus knows just how to cleanse us from these lies. He knows how to help us see that it’s not selfish to rest (Matthew 11:28). He knows we don’t need to “do more” because He has already accomplished the true victory (Romans 5:6). He knows how to help us stop striving to please others so vigorously that it leaves us empty (Galatians 1:10-11), and He knows how to fill us up again (John 16:26). He knows how to remove our doubts, insecurities, and anxieties and replace them with peace (John 14:27). And the most beautiful thing He knows how to do is simply to care for you (Luke 12:6-7). I pray that you will let speak truth into your life and spread peace throughout your soul.

{If you’d like to read the original post 5 Truths Your Heart Needs to be Reminded, please click here!)

12 thoughts on “Week 4: It’s Okay to Rest; It’s Okay to Need Care

  1. Yes, this is so true. It took a long time for me to learn this, and I have to re-learn it all the time. This year God gave me “be still” as my word for the year. It’s taken 6 months for me to even make baby steps, but I’m so glad He gave me this phrase! I just heard Galatians 2:19-20 yesterday, and I loved the translation that said, “I don’t have to try to impress God.” So true. We don’t need to earn His love. He loves us as we are. Thanks for sharing!

    • That is such a wonderful phrase to meditate on, Kim! What perfect words to keep close to our hearts. It can be so difficult to find peace with stillness and rest, but I’m thankful you’re taking baby steps towards doing so! That verse is a perfect reminder that we can rest in His love. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. hi!!
    Another encouraging message and reminder! (I am going to relax now..haha)!
    Really though,, you have much wisdom to share…thank you!! love mom

  3. I recently read a different translation of 1 Peter 5:7 (Phillips) that made me reconsider this well known verse again. ” You can throw the whole weight of your anxieties upon Him, for you are His personal care” Its only a very subtle change in the language but it made me stop and think about the fact that God really personally cares about every little anxiety, worry, sadness and pain that I have and what that really means for me when I pray.

    Thank you for your blog posts. I’ve been reading them every week & always find them encouraging. You write really well and are sharing truths that I definitely need to be reminded of.

    • That is such a wonderful translation of the verse! Very powerful! Isn’t it remarkable how just wording things slightly different can have such an impact on our understanding? Thanks for sharing that translation with me 🙂

      I’m so thankful to have you as a faithful reader. It truly touches my heart to hear that you feel encouraged by my posts. I pray these truths (and all the many more) will embrace your heart through all the trials. God bless!

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on illness and suffering.

    I like the concept that faith is a covenant and not a contract and circumstances can’t be bargained away if we only pray harder or do more. And even tougher concept might be taking care of self and not striving so hard to please then end up emptying ourselves. Those are lessons for us all.

    Nicely expressed. Looking foward to the next post.

  5. Just found you – when I need you the most! Will be waiting for your next post.

    I think I was born with fibromyalgia (if that’s possible) and it has been at least 30 years since diagnosis – struggling to get through each and every day.

    Thank you for your wise and kind words of faith – and HOPE. Oh, we need hope.

    • Hi Annie!
      I’m so thankful you found my site at a time when you needed it most. It’s so nice to have you here. I’m very sorry to hear that you have suffered with fibromyalgia for so long. I know it is a terrible challenge to face such overwhelming pain each day. It’s a true testament of your strength that you have persevered for so long. I pray that you will be comforted and healed of all pain.

      Peace to you,
      Rachel

Leave a Reply

